2020 Competition

The Fourth Annual University of Miami Three Minute Thesis Competition took place on February 5, 2020, at the Kislak Center
First Place

Benjamin E. Borenstein, Ph.D. student in the Miami Herbert Business School
Dissertation- Computing Closeness: Differences in Online Prosocial Behavior across Device Mobility


Stephano Chang, Ph.D. student in the Miller School of Medicine
Dissertation- Neuromodulation to Enhance Locomotion in a Large Animal Model of Thoracic Spinal Cord Injury

People's Choice

Michael T. Connelly, Ph.D. student in the Rosenstiel School of Marine & Atmospheric Science
Dissertation- Interactions Between the Coral Innate Immune System and Coral-Associated Bacteria Communities

Full List of Competitors:
  • Olivia Altamirano, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Benjamin Borenstein, Miami Herbert Business School
  • Daniella Carucci, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Jin Yop Chang, Miller School of Medicine  
  • Michael Connelly, Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science
  • Julius Dewald, Abess Center for Ecosystem Science & Policy (the Graduate School) 
  • Donnie Garcia Navarro, School of Architecture 
  • Vanessa Lara, School of Education & Human Development 
  • Jeffrey Peterson, College of Engineering
  • Victor Rubio Carrillo, Frost School of Music  

Full Recording of the Competition

For the full program of the event, click here.

Click here to view event pictures and more information. 

Photo Album