

FIFTH ANNUAL THREE MINUTE THESIS COMPETITION

Presented by the Graduate School in partnership with the Graduate Student Association

THU. | FEB. 4, 2021 | 6-8PM



ABOUT THE COMPETITION

The Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) Competition celebrates the exciting research conducted by graduate students around the world. Developed by the University of Queensland in 2008, the competition cultivates students' academic, presentation, and research communication skills. Presenting in a 3MT® Competition increases students' capacity to succinctly summarize their research in three minutes using language comprehensible to a non-specialist audience. Competitors are allowed one PowerPoint slide, but no other resources or props. The inaugural University of Miami 3MT® Competition was held in April 2017 in partnership with the Graduate Student Association.

EVENT PROGRAM

6:00 p.m. Welcome and Opening Remarks

6:10 p.m. | Competition Commences

7:00 p.m. | People's Choice Award Voting

7:05 p.m. Q & A Session and Acknowledgements

7:25 p.m. Announcement of Winners

7:35 p.m. Closing Remarks

2021 COMPETITORS

(in order of appearance)



Nima Hosseinzadeh

Ph.D. student in Civil Engineering, College of Engineering

Dissertation: Saying "Goodbye" to Road

Repairs!

Advisor: Prannoy Suraneni



Shannon Newberry

Master's student in Architecture, School of Architecture

Thesis: Deflating Power Structures Through

Inflatable Design

Advisor: Joel Lamere



Rosy Xu

Ph.D. student in Business, Miami Herbert Business School

Dissertation: Corporate Fake News on Social

Media

Advisor: Fabrizio Ferri



Mohammad Ghiasian

Ph.D. student in Civil Engineering, College of Engineering

Dissertation: Structural Morphogenesis of Green/Gray Coastal Infrastructure: Paradigms

for Shoreline Protection

Advisor: Landolf Rhode-Barbarigos



Jennifer Ann Lamy

Master's student in Architecture, School of Architecture

Thesis: Architecture, Housing and Racism

Advisors: Glenda Puente and Germane Barnes

2021 COMPETITORS

(continued)



Marybeth Arcodia

Ph.D. student in Atmospheric Sciences, Rosenstiel School of Marine & Atmospheric Science

Dissertation: Subseasonal Variability of Tropical-Extratropical Teleconnections

Advisor: Ben Kirtman



Daisy Lopez

Ph.D. student in Psychology, College of Arts & Sciences

Thesis: Family-Related Risk and Protective Factors for Suicidal Ideation in Individuals with Schizophrenia Spectrum Disorders

Advisor: Amy Weisman de Mamani



Kimberly Boswell

Ph.D. student in Economics, Miami Herbert Business School

Dissertation: The Effect of Cannabis Dispensaries: Placement and Policy

Advisor: Christopher Parmeter



Cho-Hee Shrader

Ph.D. student in Prevention Science and Community Health, Miller School of Medicine

Dissertation: The Influences of Spatial and Social Network Factors on PrEP-related Disparities among Latinx Men who have Sex with Men

Advisor: Mariano Kanamori



Felicia Casanova

Ph.D. student in Sociology, College of Arts & Sciences

Dissertation: Navigating Health Disparities and Immigration Status: Community Health Workers and Latinx Farmworkers in South Florida

Advisors: John Murphy and Kathryn Nowotny

ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

The Graduate School and Graduate Student Association thank the following individuals and contributors for their support:

JUDGES

Dr. Jeffrey Duerk

Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost

Professor Osamudia James

Associate Provost for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in the Office of Faculty Affairs and Professor in the School of Law

Dr. Maria Stampino

Dean of Undergraduate Affairs in the Office of the Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost, Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and College Diversity in the College of Arts & Sciences, and Professor in the Department of Modern Languages and Literatures

CONTRIBUTORS

Creative Studio Team

Special recognition to Vanessa Rodriguez, Head of Creative Studio

Toppel Career Center Team

Special recognition to Carly Smith, Director of Career Services, and Ismaris Ocasio, Assistant Director of Graduate Programs

Writing Center Team

Special recognition to Joanna Johnson, Director of Writing, and April Mann, Director